Becoming a Licensed Family Child Care Provider
Being a licensed family child care provider can be very rewarding. Some times people think it is an easy way to make a buck. It's not! Caring for children takes a lot of patience, understanding of how children grow, and the ability to work effectively with parents. If you love children, like staying at home, and want to provide a healthy, safe environment that promotes learning, then becoming a Licensed Family Child Care provider may be the career for you.
Here are a few more good reasons for you to make the effort to become a licensed Family Child Care provider:
- You are licensed by the State of California.
- CCCC Resource and Referral (R&R) can refer parents to you.
- Your home is considered safe and meets basic health and safety requirements.
- You can use your child care expenses as business expenses. This allows you to deduct the expenses in full when you file your income tax forms.
- You may be able to receive reimbursements for the meals and snacks you serve to the children in your care through the Child Care Food Program.
Family Child Care Home Regulation Highlights
Family Child Care Homes: Tenant's Rights
California Community Care Licensing Division
To become a licensed family child care home provider, an applicant must:
- Attend a licensing orientation ($25.00 FEE)
- Complete an application (application will be given at orientation)
- Pay the $66.00 application fee
- Complete 4 hours of pediatric/child CPR and 4 hours of pediatric /child first aid training
- Complete 7 hours of health and safety practices training that promotes prevention
- Everyone in the home over the age of 18 years:
- Have a current tuberculosis clearance, as well as anyone over age 18 residing in the home or present in the home during the time that children will be in care.
- Complete a criminal background check-Everyone who must be fingerprinted must also sign a statement, under penalty of perjury, that s/he has never been convicted of a crime other than a minor traffic violation.
- Complete a child abuse index check
- You can read the Family Child Care Home licensing requirements by clicking here: Family Child Care Home Licensing Requirements (Title 22)
Step One - Orientation
The Department of Social Services Community Care Licensing has created a potential provider letter. You can come by CCCC and pick up a copy of the letter (if you are in an outlying area just give us a call). The letter will contain step by step instructions on what you need to do to become licensed. You will fill out a form and return it with a $25.00 registration fee for your orientation. When licensing receives your form and fee they will mail you a receipt. When you call CCCC to register for an orientation session you will need the receipt number.
Please note: Clients may attend an orientation once a year provided they pay the licensing orientation fee again. For more information and to confirm times and dates, call:
- Community Connection for Child Care,
Resource and Referral Division
661.861.5200 in Bakersfield, toll-free at 877.861.5200
Step Two - Your Application
- Complete an application given at orientation
At orientation, you will receive information on how to become licensed and how to obtain an application packet for your license and instructions regarding the state regulations. You, and every person over age 18 living in the home, will need:
- 1. to be fingerprinted
2. a Child Abuse Index Check
3. a tuberculosis (TB) skin test
4. a criminal record statement (Lic. 508).
- Pay the $66.00 application fee You will send in a signed affivadit after attending orientation with a self-addressed envelope with $3 for postage and mail it to Department of Social Services in Fresno. Once you receive your application, complete and mail the necessary forms. CCCC Resource and Referral can review completed applications before mailing. For application assistance contact Cindy Burns, 661-861-5202 or Pat Barron 661-861-5308
Step Three - Community Care Licensing Acceptance
- The Department of Social Services will send a letter with a facility number stating your application is in process. You must obtain a fingerprint clearance and a Child Abuse Index Check for yourself, anyone over age 18 in your home, and any assistants. There is a $50 charge for LiveScan fingerprinting that will be submitted to Community Care Licensing. You may be fingerprinted at:
Community Connection for Child Care
2000 K St., Suite 110
1.800.315.4507 to make an appointment
- A scheduled site visit will be done by an evaluator from the Department of Social Services to check health and safety practices in the home.
Where To Get Help To Become A Licensed Family Child Care Provider
The California Child Care Initiative Project, CCIP was developed to help you become a successful family child care provider and is a free training and support program for individuals who are starting their first family child care home. Click here for more information.
QUALITY CHILD CARE AND BRAIN DEVELOPMENT
Current research details how a child's earliest experiences and relationships affect the way his/her brain is organized. During these crucial early years of life, the brain is forming connections that may determine a lifetime of skills and potentials. Quality care of young children is key. Some of the findings confirm what parents and caregivers already know - that how the children are raised has an enormous impact on their emotional well-being, intellectual level and skills for success.
Studies indicate that well trained child care providers offer higher quality child care services and those will little to no training. Contact Community Connection for Child Care to help with child development training, professional development, working with children with special needs and marketing your program. Visit our Education and Training page for more information!